Out & About in Seattle: Lunar New Year Food Walk

IMG_4191 2Before the spectacle that was Super Bowl Sunday this weekend here in Seattle, the Year of the Horse arrived!

I thought, since Husband and I have never really taken the opportunity to explore the International District here in the city, the Lunar New Year Food Walk was the perfect way to introduce ourselves to the area.IMG_4339Ya know, that and a way to get some fresh air, take my camera for a little exercise, try some fantastic Asian food and kill some time in anticipation of the Super Bowl.IMG_4178

I expected the crowd but, I definitely was a little overwhelmed by the amount of people squeezed into a few block radius.IMG_4187But the lines generally moved and the food was well worth the wait.IMG_4180After some morning showers the sun even graced us with its presence for a while and it was a happy gatheringIMG_4176I wish I had the fortitude to fight for a spot closer to the action or a few inches on my not-so-tall body so that I could show you pictures of the performances. Maybe next year I’ll have a better game plan. (Although I wouldn’t hold your breath or anything.)IMG_4199Either way, I truly enjoyed the festive atmosphere, the food, the smells, the sights, the entertainment and the experience altogether.IMG_4213What a lovely and friendly area and very different than International Districts in other cities I’ve visited. I won’t hesitate to go back one of these days when the whole city of Seattle doesn’t have the same idea. IMG_4216I can’t wait for an excuse to head back for a couple of my favorite steamed buns (yum!), great shops and some great photo opportunities.

IMG_4191And of course, Happy Lunar New Year! Welcome Year of the Horse!

Next on the agenda? The Seahawks Victory Parade this Wednesday. We’ll be there and if you’re a fan nearby, I hope you will be too!

Always,

Aja Lynn

 

One thought on “Out & About in Seattle: Lunar New Year Food Walk

Leave a Reply

